A plague on “Corner Groups”

Some things I can put up with; global financial mayhem, melting ice-caps, the poverty trap but others I cannot.  I’m talking about Corner Groups.  What is it that makes a furniture manufacturer come up with such a clinical, cras and repellant description of one of the great english words?  "Sofa" – go on, say it – it exudes relaxation – it says pipe and slippers, it says dont just sit on me – lie on me – i will envelope you in luxury.  But "Corner Group" – well, thats a shelf unit.  It’s hard, gutteral, matter-of-fact, utilitarian.  When I hear the DFS ads come on I put my fingers in my ears and go "la-la-la!" it offends me so much.  "Settee" was a bad idea but at least it had middle-class honesty but Corner Groups – ugh! – a plague on them!
Leave a Reply

