Bupa London 10k

I’m an
early riser so was up at 6, fed the dishwasher, emptied the dog, made a
two-shot cappuccino and then woke up.  Coming
to, I was glad I packed my race kit the night before and headed off to
Chorleywood station in my son’s stroppy little Ford Ka to catch the 8 o clock
train.  “No through trains” was not a
welcome phrase to see on the wobbly noticeboard outside the station so there
was only one thing for it – drive upstream to the next, then the next station
until I found service – assuming there was any on the Met Line on a bank holiday.

Northwood
was up so in no time I was in Piccadilly and scanning for bug t-shirts in an
already heaving green park.  Emmylou!  Bag drop, nervous pee and off to the start
line where I bumped into the same couple that I started with last year – Hi Tracey!  Tracey likes to chat so it was on with the
headphones and into the zone.  

Primal
Scream kicked off the playlist to the throb of the 3 helicopters overhead.  Traffic through Westminster then down to a steady chug on the
embankment right up to the city made for a pleasant and uneventful run.  K7 I started to get a bit hot so did slow up a
bit to get my heart rate down and fortunately the sprays were on so a good
dousing and I was go, go , go all the way to the Mall with a PB of 52.16
shaving more than 2mins of the Watford bluebell run last bank hols.

Medals,
water, new shirt (same as the last one pretty much – c’mon Bupa get a designer
in! up to the park to find Stu-Pid reclining at Meeting Point “R” like the
winner he was.  Emylous arrives with cold
bubbly and the team assembles, Runaway Nan, SaraG, Jaquiema and special mention
to our very own Batrunt – forum contributor extraordinaire.  

A great day
out, new chums, another gong and first pic onto the forum – everyone’s a
winner!

Leave a Reply

