Rain again; perfect running weather!

Sometimes I forget this was supposed to be at least in part a running blog so it’s not just acceptable but essential to talk about running like a geek once in a while.  So if you are reading this and you are a runner (which seems to be most of you judging by your blog titles) then this won’t appear too self-indulgent.  Non-runners might want to re-tune now!

rain runner
I don’t have thighs like this but I do like running in the rain.

Running outside is a pleasure at any time and in countryside such as I am able to enjoy here in Hertfordshire even more so.  Only one thing adds an extra frisson of excitement to a run for me and that’s extreme weather.  Brow-scalding sunshine, a good dump of snow or, as we had here this Christmas week: heavy, horizontal slabs of driving rain.

There’s no such thing as bad weather; only inappropriate clothing.  And over the years my running wardrobe has steadily grown to accommodate most conditions.  Here are some tactics and items that work for me.

– Driving rain can be somewhat blinding which if you’re traipsing through woods can lead to a fall over rocks or roots.  I take a cap with a visor or wear a sweatband to clear the water and keep good visibility

– I warm up well before going out; stretches or press ups get the blood circulating and make the first dousing less of a shock

– In the wet you need a decent jacket; I have a bunch of them. A light Saucony showerproof single-skin, an extra-warm Brooks Silver bullet high visibility and an all-purpose and super-luxury Ashmei (my fave) with merino wool panels

– Top: a Mizuno long-sleeved baselayer for cold weather (below 4 degrees) or a standard long-sleeve wicking running top if above 4 degrees

– Cold-weather Mizuno Breathe Thermo Bio leggings.

– Shoes: Inov8 Roclites or even Mudclaws. These shoes are outstanding and last for ever.  You can hurtle down a wet, grassy hillside with total confidence that you won’t slip.

– Headphones: waterproof CX 680 – indestructable.

I just love that feeling of “Me versus the weather!”.  During my Marathon training in early 2010 I went for several 15 mile runs in deep snow and just loved the extra muscle stretch that demanded.  The cross-country routes I took this week in the rain were just as exhilarating.  With the barren fields completely waterlogged, I splashed and splooshed along to the sounds of DJ Shah’s Magic Island and returned with a Ready-Brek glow only to rinse down with the garden hose which seemed decidedly warm.

Back inside and showered, I refuel with a litre of Lucozade Recovery and a square meal making sure to balance a good loading of carbs and protein and to do so within 15 minutes of getting in to restore the glycogen ready for the next outing.  Bring it on.

One thought on “Rain again; perfect running weather!

Leave a Reply

