Olympic rowing heroes on film

I’ve been busting to tell you but I had to keep it under wraps.

In January, I signed an agreement with the GB Rowing Team to film them as they made their way towards The Rio 2016 Olympic Games. As video contracts go it was a peach and in good rowing style I was thrown in at the deep end.  You can see how I got on here.

7.15 am on a blustery February morning amid some of the worst storms the country has seen is not a pretty time to be awake let alone sitting in what I can only describe as a fibreglass splinter, cracking out a two-hour training session on a freezing cold lake.  But that’s what rowers do.  Every day.  With only one day’s break every 6 weeks.  For years at a time.  That, brother, is dedication.  That is what wins Olympic medals.

And win they did.  Nine medals in all at London 2012 and that was a record.

If rowers don’t mind, I’d like to offer them a compliment. In the making of this short film I met some pretty hardcore champs both of the current millennium and the last. Not at any time was I made to feel unwelcome as I poked my camera at them during their bizarre stretching routines nor at any time did one ounce of ego show itself among folks who could quite well justify a little self-praise. Instead I met a bunch of unspeakably healthy individuals dedicated beyond belief to becoming the fittest and doing the very best their bodies and minds would allow them to do.

While superhuman athletic performance and some lottery funding is part of it I think it’s this personal quality that truly makes Olympians.

Sorry its been a while since my last blog.  I’ve been kinda busy.  Hopefully more to come through the summer including more amazing rowing footage and news.

Leave a Reply

