Human 2.0? Why it’ll never work.

Some years ago now and shortly after they were launched, I bought an iPad.  It was the earliest version and for a brief moment in time I was the proud owner of a new, the newest, technology format.

Not long afterwards the second and then the third version came out with cameras, retina screens and so on.  Now, many of the apps I want to use on my modest non-retina screen and IOS 4(?) no longer want to update, telling me in a rather patronising way to upgrade to IOS 6 or later if I want to be in the club.  I liked my iPad and was quite happy with the basic model but I’m able to use it less and less and soon it will become unusable due to its incompatibility with the very things it was supposed to be used for.

“Nothing is so easy that we do not appreciate it being easier” 

I heard a woman say that on the train today and elegantly put it sums up the problem.  We always want things to be easier, faster and better.  We, and the companies that produce our consumer goods are addicted to this cycle and I wonder how and if it will ever stop.

Strangely though, and somewhat reassuringly, human beings and the biology that goes to make them is steadfastly refusing to upgrade.  Our bodies are so Windows 95.  So Ford Anglia.  So Nokia 6310, so retro.

Humans were ecstatic when we broke the 4-minute mile in 1954.  Since then we’ve shaved all of 16 seconds off that.  Good, but no cigar. Instead of improving, human biology is actually getting less efficient as we succumb to clever viruses and the germs we find antibiotics for learn to ignore them faster than we can re-design them.

Efforts to update our bodies are at best temporary and in most cases epic fails.  I’m not suggesting we all turn into robots or terminator-style bionics.  No, I think of it the other way.  Let’s start a revolution against the pace of change and take a moment to enjoy the things we have or as John Lydon put it to Jon Snow this week “bloody learn to love each other properly”.

You can see the John Lydon interview  for now at least here:  http://bcove.me/fjzn8w3y

One thought on “Human 2.0? Why it’ll never work.

  1. Nice retro references. I agree that sometimes progress isn’t necessarily necessary. Of course I’m writing this response from a cell phone that has more computing power that the first manned spaceship to land on the moon.

Leave a Reply

